Viking President's Cup

President's Cup Format

Regional Rules, Information & Standings

Region I   Region II   Region III   Region IV   Region V   Region VI   Region VII

What is the President's Cup?

The President’s Cup was established in 1978 in order to create a national competition for amateur paddlers. Platform tennis had begun to be increasingly professionalized, especially in the East, and good regional players were losing interest in this type of competition. Increasingly, separate regional tournaments were held for these non-professionals (defined as not nationally ranked.) Each Region held its own qualifying tournament to determine which four teams from its Region would be sent to the President’s Cup:

In the first few years, the President's Cup was held separately from the APTA Men's and Women's Nationals. Beginning in 1982, the President's Cups have been held at the site of the Nationals, the day before the start of the tournaments.

Regional President's Cup Captains

REGION MEN'S EMAIL WOMEN'S EMAIL
1 Drew Broderick
Dbroderick@canoebrook.org
Tina Wein
christina_wein@yahoo.com
2 Jeff Morneau jmorneau@cmolawyers.com Amy Hutter amy.hutter@comcast.net
3 Scott Freund
scott@familyofficeresearch.com
Sue Pijawka
s.pijawka@verizon.net
4 Rob Bakker
bakkerrob04@gmail.com
Amy Heil
amyoheil@gmail.com
5 Ben McKnight benmcknight4@gmail.com Lisa Goldberg
Lisa.J.Goldberg@gmail.com
6 Ken Croney ken@jacksonptrs.com
Cameron Lanphier
lanphier3@comcast.net
7 Eric Miller
emiller@letternine.net
Nan Miller
nan@nfmiller.com
Independent Not Yet Named





Winners

YEAR LOCATION MEN WOMEN  
2019   Pittsburgh, PA II  II  Team Photos 
2018 Chicago, IL  II V  
2017 Philadelphia, PA  II  
2016 Darien, CT  II  I Team Photos
2015 Chicago, IL  II V Team Photos
2014 Pittsburgh, PA  II V Team Photos
2013 Franklin Lakes, NY  II I Team Photos
2012 Long Island, NY  V V Team Photos
2011 Chicago, IL  V V Team Photos
2010 Philadelphia, PA  Team Photos
2009 Cincinnati, OH I IV Team Photos
2008 Rochester, NY II IV  
2007 Pelham, NY II IV  
2006 Chicago, IL I V  
2005 Pittsburgh, PA V IV  
2004 Cleveland, OH I I  
2003 Philadelphia, PA III I  
2002 Long Island, NY IV I  
2001 Summit, NJ IV I  
2000 Rochester, NY III III  
1999 Pelham, NY IV V  
1998 Chicago, IL V V  
1997 Pittsburgh, PA V V  
1996 Rochester, NY I IV  
1995 Montclair, NJ I III  
1994 Scarsdale, NY III III  
1993 Cleveland, OH V V  
1992 Long Island, NY III III  
1991 Philadelphia, PA III I  
1990 Chicago, IL III II  
1989 Scarsdale, NY III III  
1988 Rochester, NY III IV, V  
1987 Cleveland, OH IV IV, V  
1986 Scarsdale, NY I IV, V  
1985 Scarsdale, NY III III  
1984 Cleveland, OH IV IV  
1983 New Canaan, CT IV IV  
1982 Allendale, NJ I  -  
1981 West Newton, MA I  -  
1980 Paoli, PA I, IV (tie)  -  
1979 South Euclid, OH IV  -  
1978 Montclair, NJ IV  -  
Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association