2016 Atlantic Classic Recap

October 31, 2016
Summit, NJ

Final Draw with scores


On an unseasonably warm day at the Canoe Brook Country Club, Drew Broderick and Jared Palmer repeated as champions at the Atlantic Classic, defeating the unseeded team of Mikk Irdoja and Dan Regan in the finals, 7-5, 6-3.

As they did in 2015, Broderick/Palmer won the APTA Nationals in March, and didn’t compete together again for seven months until tbe Atlantic Classic. Clearly Broderick and Palmer didn’t need to shake off any rust, advancing through the draw without dropping a set. Broderick/Palmer did face a few tense moments in their semifinal match against Juan Arraya and Jeff Morneau, down 3-5 and facing a set point in the first set. After they saved the set point, it was smooth sailing for Broderick/Palmer, as they reeled off the next nine games to win the match. Irdoja and Regan, who also lost to Broderick and Palmer in the third round of the APTA Nationals in March, busted the bracket on their side of the draw, taking out the #3 seeds Martin Bostrom and Sebastian Bredberg  7-6, 7-5 in the round of 16 and squeezing by the #5 seeds Marco Grangeiro and John Hughes 2-6, 6-4, 7-5 in the semifinals.

The second seeds, Max Le Pivert and George Wilkinson, were the heavy favorites to reach the finals based on their showing at the Patterson Open, where they reached the finals and nearly upset Johan du Randt and Mark Parsons. Marco Grangeiro and John Hughes had their number in the semifinals, though, cruising to a 6-1, 6-3 victory.

The two premier teams in the game, Broderick/Palmer and du Randt/Parsons, are undefeated so far this season. Can anyone prevent them them from facing off in the finals at Chicago Charities this upcoming weekend? From what we’ve seen this season so far, it will take a team playing some incredible paddle.

Main: Drew Broderick/Jared Palmer def. Mikk Irdoja/Dan Regan 7-5, 6-3
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Max Le Pivert/George Wilkinson def. Steve DeRose/Jon Lubow 1-6, 6-2, 10-2
Round of 16 Reprieve: Anthony Cosimano/Brett Kraft def. Anton Bobytski/Bernard Schoeman 8-4
Reprieve: Eric Fey/Ciaran Fitzgerald def. John Mah/Philip Rams
Consolation: Trevor McAndrew/Eric Niesen def. Thommas de Liefde/Jim Lipinski 8-5
Last Chance: Matthew Fawcett/Mark Ruppert def. Bryan Adinolfi/Mike Furman 8-4
Consolation Reprieve: Evan Ambrose/Patrick McNally def. Connor Breen/Greg Morgan 6-3, 6-2

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association