High Level Competition Marks 35th Cleveland Masters

NOVEMBER 18, 2009

Highly competitive teams competed in the various 35th annual Cleveland Masters tournaments held November 13-15. The weather was warmer than most paddle conditions which made for a lively competition.

In the Men's Open, National Ranking and President's Cup Qualifier, the #1 seed and defending champion team of Brian Heil and Denny English from Columbus, OH, retained their crown for the second straight year. They beat Brett Englesberg and Jeff McMaster from Pittsburgh, PA in the finals 6-3, 7-6 (8-6).

Men's Open Draw

In the Ladies Open and President Cup Qualifier, #4 seed Janet Mazzola, Cleveland, OH, and Ann Turner, Cincinnati, OH beat unseeded Holly Peck and Karen Henke form Pittsburgh 5-7, 6-3, 7-6 (7-5). This marked the first time Janet has won the tournament and the first time since 2002 that a hometown Clevelander was victorious. It was the second time that Ann won the tournament, last winning in 1999. Holly and Kelly were no stranger to the finals. Holly having won in 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004 and 2007 and Karen won in 2003 and 2004. The team was also runner's up in 2006.

Women's Open Draw

In the Men 90+, there was a rematch of last year's finals with a different ending. This year the team of Danny McLaughlin, Cleveland, OH, and Bill Sullivan, Columbus, OH, beat Eric Miller and John Schloss.

Men's 90+ Draw

Hope to see everyone back in Cleveland for the APTA Mixed National Championships March 12 - 14, 2010 and the Cleveland Masters next November!

2009 Cleveland Masters Men's Champs

 2009 Cleveland Masters Ladies Finalists

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association