Ryan Baxter and Mark Cunnington Demolish in Detroit

February 1-3, 2019
Birmingham, MI

2019 Detroit MenFor the first time in the history of the Detroit Invitational, Men’s 90+ and 110+ draws were added, increasing the tournament’s already widespread appeal. In the Men’s NRT draw, Anthony Jagozinski and Scott Mansager scored an upset over the second seeded team of Scott Estes and Kasey Vens in the third round before falling to the third seeds, Ludo Aaron and George Higgins, in the semifinals. In the finals, the top seeds Ryan Baxter and Mark Cunnington defeated Aaron and Higgins to claim the championship. The Men’s B title went to Keith Albertie and Rob Conway after they defeated Mike Sokol and Mark Woods. Brad Pierce and David Pierce won the 90+ title over Jeremiah Bourke and Kirk Haggerty, and David Lord and Jack McNaughton won the 110+ round robin.

Thank you to tournament directors Frank Willard and Chris Davis.

Men’s NRT Results:
Main Draw: Ryan Baxter/Mark Cunnington def. Ludo Aaron/George Higgins
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Scott Estes/Kasey Vens def. Flip Goodspeed/Cullen Malloy
Reprieve: Brad Pierce/David Pierce def. Andrew Grannis/Alex Solove
Consolation: Toby Buechner/Casey Cullen def. Bill Smith/Lincoln Wirgau
Consolation Reprieve: Steve Kornmeier/Brad Thompson def. Andrew Krell/Josh Krell

2019 Detroit Men FinalistsMen’s B Results:
Main Draw: Keith Albertie/Rob Conway def. Mike Sokol/Mark Woods
Semifinal Reprieve: Kevin Moore/Nick Moran def. Blaise Liederbach/Sean McLaughlin
Consolation: Brady Savage/Kevin Thomas def. Scott Stevenson/Thomas Stevenson
Consolation Reprieve: Bill O’Connor/Doug Passon def. Jamie Dingeman/Garrett Keais

Men’s 90+ Results:
Main Draw: Brad Pierce/David Pierce def. Jeremiah Bourke/Kirk Haggerty
Reprieve: Frank Willard/Lincoln Wirgau def. Timothy Drenth/Matthew McEwen
Consolation: Jack McNaughton/Bill Smith def. Scott Adams/B.J. Cameron
Consolation Reprieve: Shawn Coyle/Geoff Welsher def. Tim Peacock/David Smith

Men’s 110+ Round Robin Top Scorers:

  1. David Lord/Jack McNaughton
  2. Tony Paddock/Michael Shields
Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association