Ryan Baxter and Ricky Heath Win the 2017 Indianapolis Open

February 19, 2017
Indianapolis, IN

See Final Draw
See Final Draw for 90+

2017 Indy MensThe 54 teams from nine states competing in the 41st annual Indianapolis Open were treated to a weekend of 60 degree weather and sunny skies.

In the 90+ division, Ricky Heath and Larry Martin (first 60+ player to win the 90s) won a heard fought battle in straight sets over Ryan Baxter and Mark Kebe. Despite some of the strongest out of state firepower the Open has ever seen, the local team of Ryan Baxter and Ricky Heath won their second consecutive Indianapolis Open title in 3 hard fought sets over Scott Kahler and Ben McKnight. Both semifinals were barn burners with the unseeded Ben Williams/Paulo Gonzales extending Baxter/Heath to three sets, and the unseeded Scott Mansager/Graham McNerney falling in two very close sets to Kahler/McKnight.

Tournament director Steve Webster reports that record beverage consumption prevailed throughout the weekend, and hopes to see all the players again next Presidents’ Day weekend in 2018!

Main Draw: Ryan Baxter/Ricky Heath def. Scott Kahler/Ben McKnight, 6-4, 0-6, 6-3
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Jeronie Barnes/Peter Berka def. Mark Barry/Brian Heil, 6-2, 6-3
Reprieve: Tyler Fraser/Zachary Held def. Alex Lambropoulos/Ryan Mullaney III, 6-3, 6-2
Consolation: Eduardo DeLaCruz/Adam Shaeffer def. Klint McEnery/Daniel Morneau, 6-2, 6-2
Consolation Reprieve: Richard Ihlendorf/Ryan Roberts def.Patrick Gilligan/Patrick Shiels
Last Chance: Jack Thygesen/Mikael Thygesen def. David Compaan/Adam Smith, 6-1, 6-2

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association