Ryan Baxter/Ed Burns Repeat at Indy Men’s 90+

December 16, 2019
Indianapolis, IN

By Ed Burns

Only in the paddle community was the weather forecast of grey skies and 40 degrees greeted as a harbinger of good luck on this Friday the 13th. A full draw of 24 hearty souls were in for a full day of fun and competition.

The seeds held to form until the quarters where Chicago’s Mark Cunnington and Detroit’s Chris Davis defeated last year‘s runner-up, the second seed father and son team of Will and George Higgins, in a tough three-setter. In another quarter, the fourth seed team of Larry Martin and Tom Murphy (aka team "zipper chest") outlasted Jeff Higgins and Mike Valinetz in another three-setter.

In the semis, the fifth seeds, Ludo Aaron and Andrew Held, defeated Cunnington/Davis in straights, and the top seeds, Ryan Baxter and Ed Burns, defeated an electrolyte-depleted Martin/Murphy, also in straight sets.

The final was a well-fought battle where the team of Baxter/Burns defended last year’s 90+ title by defeating Aaron/Held in two sets.

The APTA thanks Tournament Director Ludo Aaron and all the staff and volunteers for an excellent event.

90s Results
Main Draw: Ryan Baxter/Ed Burns def. Ludo Aaron/Andrew Held
Quarter Reprieve: Finalists Jeff Higgins/Mike Valinetz vs. George Higgins/Will Higgins
Reprieve: Patrick Herrell/Mikael Thygesen def. Jeff Quinto/Claude Warren
Consolation: Campbell/Thompson def. Lindell/Martin
Consolation Reprieve: Boncosky/Fix def. Maseck/Napier



L to R: Winners Ryan Baxter/Ed Burns Finalists Ludo Aaron/Andrew Held


Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association