A Different Look at the Long Island Men’s Invitational

Ann Sheedy
December 4, 2011
Glen Cove, NY

Long Island Invitational Finalists
(l-r) Winners Johan du Randt & Mark Parsons,
Finalists Guy Moore & Drew Broderick

If you were online this weekend, and had the APTA website up, we hope you were able to watch some of this high-level tournament. This year it was a particularly unique event in that lots of different pairings were seen among the seeded players. Defending National Champs Mike Stulac and Mark Parsons split up to play with Nathan LeFevre and Johan du Randt, respectively. Drew Broderick, one of the current Chicago Charities champions, teamed with old partner Guy Moore to make it to the finals. Juan Martinez Arraya joined forces with Jon Lubow. 

No matter the combination, no one could dent the team of du Randt and Parsons. Showing the same brilliance that earned him the 2010 Men’s National title with Jerry Albrikes, du Randt dominated the court. Du Randt’s extraordinary combination of quickness, power and touch combined with Mark Parson’s laser-like backhand wreaked havoc on opponents.

Michael Chen and Junius Clark captured the Men's B tournament, defeating Tony Ettinger and Jack Sutherland in a tight 7-6, 7-5 final.

Men's Draw (pdf)    Men's B Draw (pdf) 

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists!

Main Johan du Randt/Mark Parsons Drew Broderick/Guy Moore 6-2, 6-2
Quarter Final Reprieve Nathan LeFevre/Mike Stulac Scott Falatek/Vlatko Najdek 0-6, 6-3, 6-1
16’s Reprieve Max LePivert/Devin Wakeford Mark Fischl/Patricio Misitrano 6-3, 3-6, 6-3
Consolation Miguel Cobbs/Taylor Stanton Cole Barris/Michael Montalbano 6-3, 6-3
Consolation Reprieve Brian Kline/Tim Mangan Dan Casesa/John Dehler 6-2, 6-2

Main Michael Chen/Junius Clark Tony Ettinger/Jack Sutherland 7-6, 7-5
Quarter Final Reprieve Chris Falvey/Jim Tuffin Rick Sayre/Brett Stanton 6-4, 6-4
Consolation Dillon-Olivia Cappi-Murphy 6-3, 6-3
Consolation Reprieve Ryan McDermott/Scott O'Sullivan Neal Griffin/Rob Kelly 6-4, 7-5
Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association