Drew Broderick and Marc Powers Repeat Winners at LI NRT/PCQ

December 1, 2018
Huntington, NY

2018 Duane Hayden LI Invitational Men's Final Results (pdf)

2018 Duane Hayden LI
L to R: Martin Bostrom, Drew Broderick, Marc Powers, Blake Anderson
This weekend marked the 42nd year of the Long Island Men’s Invitational, renamed the Duane Hayden Long Island Invitational NRT/Viking PCQ in 2013. Drew Broderick has won the tournament with three different partners: Steve DeRose in 2013, Jared Palmer in 2014, and Marc Powers this year. This was Powers’ second consecutive title in Long Island, winning it last year with John Hughes.


Saturday delivered a perfect day for paddle, with cool temperatures and clear skies. The draw was well represented by highly ranked players, many playing with partners other than their regular teammates. In one well-played, hard-fought quarterfinal match, former partners Martin Bostrom and Sebastian Bredberg found themselves on opposite sides of the net. Bostrom, playing with Blake Anderson prevailed in this battle, beating the third seeds, Bredberg and Jon Lubow, 7-5, 4-6, 6-4.

The other quarterfinals were more straightforward affairs, with Broderick/Powers (1), and Burus/Stoisavljevic (2) advancing in straight sets, and Grangeiro/Wilkinson (4) moving on after Genius Chidzikwe and Harry Walsh retired after the first set.

George Wilkinson, back after a two-year absence from the draw due to injury, was a welcome addition to the tournament. Wilkinson and Marco Grangeiro, who won the title together in 2015, made it to the semifinals before falling in three sets to Broderick/Powers, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4. In the other semifinal, Bostrom/Anderson scored another upset, knocking out Burus/ Stoisavljevic.
Unfortunately, as the players were taking the court at 6:30 PM for the finals, a cold, hard rain started and did not let up for the duration of a very short match, which Broderick/Powers won, 6-0, 6-2.

There was an excellent turnout of spectators throughout the day. I would like to add, I must say, without exception, it is a pleasure to run this tournament, to a man, the players all are gentlemen, courteous, polite, and appreciative of the efforts put forth for their benefit.

Main Draw: Drew Broderick/Marc Powers def. Blake Anderson/Martin Bostrom, 6-0, 6-2
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Mark Innes/Bernard Schoeman def. John Cassas/Anton Protsenko, 7-5, 6-3
Reprieve: Andrew Chan/Michael Montalbano def. Tomas Christian/Juan Carlos Cotto, 4-6, 7-5, 10-3.
Consolation: Will Kendall/Zachary Rosenow def. Jeremy Court/David Goldberg, 7-5, 6-3
Consolation Reprieve: Andrew Miles/Darren Schwandt def. Ray Crosta/Matt Garavaglia, 6-1, 2-6, 10-4


Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association