Marvin & Falatek Claim Mid Atlantic's Men's Championships

DECEMBER 8, 2007

The top Region III teams traveled to Chevy Chase, Maryland to compete in the Mid Atlantic's Men's Platform Championships and earn some hard fought President Cup Qualifying points. The tournament was hosted by Art Garrett at the Chevy Chase Club.

The quarter-finals on the top half saw the #1 seed of Todd Marvin and Scott Falatek defeat the tournament host and #8 seed Art Garrett and his partner Scott Freund. The other quarter-final match had the newly formed team and #5 seed Vlatko Najdek and Andrew Hocker defeating the #4 seed and perennial Region III Presidents Cup team of Larry Hyde and Bruce Redpath.

On the bottom half, the quarter-final matches featured the # 7 seed of Teddy Easter and Andy Todd whom took down the #2 seed of Mark Holtschneider and John Stefanik. The match of the tournament featured
the two unseeded teams of Burke Hayes (current 55+ champion) and Chris Gorman versus the wily duo from Baltimore, Tad Stellman and Lindsey Hargrave. Hayes and Gorman won the quarter-final match in a
hotly-contested 3-setter.

In the Semi-finals Marvin and Falatek were on their game as they took down Najdek and Hocker in straight sets. It took Easter and Todd three sets to defeat the unseeded duo of Hayes and Gorman setting up the show
down between the #1 and # 7 seeds for the Championship.

Marvin and Falatek provided no evidence of slowing down as they won the Championship match 6-3 and 6-4 over Easter and Todd making the Mid Atlantic their second consecutive PCQ victory and well on their way to
qualifying for the Presidents Cup held on March 14, 2008 in Rochester, N.Y. Congrats to Todd and Scott.

Special thanks go out to Art Garrett and the Chevy Chase Club for hosting the event and providing some great food and beverages and a Masseuse!!

The next PCQ event for the men in Region III is the Pennsylvania State Men's Championship being held on January 12th and 13th in Newtown Square, Pennsylvania.

The Finalists (l to r) - Andy Todd, Teddy Easter (runners-up), Art Garrett (Tournament Director), Scott Falatek, Todd Marvin (Champions)

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association