The Midwesterns Grand Prix Recap

January 19, 2021
Cincinnati, OH

2021 The Midwesterns Women's NRT Final Results (doc) (pdf)

2021 The Midwesterns Men's NRT Final Results (doc) (pdf)

The first Grand Prix tournament of 2021 featured many new teams testing their mettle against other tried and true duos. The women played on Friday during what Gerri Viant on Live Streaming said, “were all four seasons.” The men showcased some of the most patient platform tennis of the season, using their weapons sparingly, on the march to the finals.


Hyde Park Golf and Country Club hosted 24 teams, who filled the courts at the Camargo Club, Kenwood Country Club, and Maketewah County Club as well on Friday. The top four seeded teams coasted into the semifinals with relative ease. In the quarterfinals, Alison Morgan and Charlotte Sikora (2), back together again since the Darien Invitational GP, dispatched Vicky Brown and Janet Mazzola, Spencer Caravaggio and Tournament Director Heather Prop (4) handled Svetlana Schroeder and Shawna Zsinko, Jessica Guyaux and Jacyln Williamson (3) defeated Hallie Bodman and Marina Ohlmuller, and Annica Cooper and Myrthe Molenveld (1) won against Denise Murphy/Alice Tunaru.

Caravaggio/Prop came out with a 6-3, 6-4, victory over Morgan/Sikora in the first semifinal. This was Morgan’s fourth Grand Prix of the season; she won the Indy Open GP (with Alice Tunaru). Caravaggio/Prop had not played together this season, but both made it to the semifinals at the Indy GP in October, and Caravaggio won the December Chicago Charities GP (Prop did not play) with Sandy Cvetkovic. The other semifinal of Guyaux/Williamson versus Cooper/Molenveld went back and forth, with the top seeds winning in three sets, 6-4, 3-6, 6-3. After a short break, Cooper/Molenveld came out swinging and went up 4-0. Caravaggio/Prop were able to recover to 4-4 but lost the first set 6-4. The second set was all Cooper/Molenveld, who volleyed well and placed their overheads to mitigate any offense, winning 6-0.


The men’s 16-team draw invaded Cincinnati on Saturday, with both top seeds, Scott Kahler and Filip Rams (1) and Tyler Fraser and Adam Morgan (2) getting to the finals without dropping a set. The Live Streamed quarterfinal match between Ryan Baxter and Ricky Heath (together again after Heath took time away from competition) and Nathan Crick and Randy Lofgren (the traveling team from the Carolinas) showed just how evenly skilled they were. Mark Fischl called it going to Crick/Lofgren because they were match ready with experience from the Indy GP (3rd place) and play together almost exclusively. They won in three sets as did William Colmar and Paul Rose against Dan Hersh and Mike Wagner. Top seeds Kahler/Rams took down Rob Bakker and Wil Lofgren in two sets, and Fraser/Morgan won in two against Rashid Hassan and Ajay Khurana.

The semifinals went too quickly for Live Streaming fans. Kahler/Rams took out Crick/Lofgren, 6-2, 6-1, and Fraser/Morgan defeated Colmar/Rose, 6-0, 6-2. In the final, the quickness of Rams and Fraser created a great match up, with Kahler bringing the wisdom and Morgan steady on the screens. In an around-the-world momentum swing, Kahler/Rams took the trophy home after a 6-1, 0-6, 6-3 long match.

Heather Prop and Mark Kebe are long time veteran Tournament Directors, running The Midwesterns with a great team of volunteers. The APTA thanks them, and all the players who came to compete.


Main Draw: Annica Cooper/Myrthe Molenveld def. Spencer Caravaggio/Heather Prop, 6-4, 6-0
Quarter Reprieve: Svetlana Schroeder/Shawna Zsinko def. Denise Murphy/Alice Tunaru, 6-3, 7-6
Consolation: Cindy Prendergast/Lauren Zink def. Sydney Berens/Chris Maglocci, 6-0, 6-2
Consolation Reprieve: Kari Falls/Lisa Goldberg def. Nancy Gaspadarek/Gwen Pontikes, 6-1, 6-2


Main Draw: Scott Kahler/Filip Rams def. Tyler Fraser/Adam Morgan, 6-1, 0-6, 6-3
Quarter Reprieve: Ryan Baxter/Ricky Heath def. Dan Hersh/Mike Wagner, 6-4, 3-6, 6-4
Consolation: Edwin Lewis/Scott Triplett def. David Held/Zachary Held, 7-6, 6-4
Consolation Reprieve: Ludo Aaron/George Higgins def. Brian Hagman/Tom Murphy, 6-4, 6-4



L to R: Winners, Myrthe Molenveld, Annica Cooper, Finalists Heather Prop, Spencer Caravaggio


L to R: Winners Scott Kahler and Filip Rams

Copyright © 2010 - 2022 American Platform Tennis Association