Marcela Rodezno and Maurice Sanchez Travel for Win at NorCal Mixed

March 4, 2020
Ross, CA

2020 Norcal Mixed A Final Results (doc) (pdf)

2020 Norcal Mixed B Final Results (doc) (pdf)

By Sebastian Bredberg

A total of 26 teams, including a few teams from Chicago and Connecticut, came to compete in the annual NorCal Mixed at Lagunitas Country Club on February 29. We couldn’t have asked for better weather and some players even enjoyed a nice walk through the redwood trails between matches.

In the A draw, Lagunitas Open Champion Marcela Rodezno played with Maurice Sanchez and they proved to be too strong, taking down Tallie Fishburne and home pro Sebastian Bredberg in straight sets in the finals. Kim Tully-Sutton and Michael Short were looking to repeat as B draw champions but fell just short in the finals, losing to Corinne Hedrick and Henry Hagenbuch in a 7-5, 7-5 battle. Thanks to all participants for making it a really fun and successful event!

The APTA thanks Sebastian Bredberg for running a great event at Lagunitas.

A Flight
Main Draw: Marcela Rodezno/Maurice Sanchez def. Tallie Fishburne/Sebastian Bredberg, 6-1, 6-3
Semi Reprieve: Chizzie Brown/Mark Puckett def. Tori Eichleay/George Eichleay,, 6-3, 6-2
Quarter Reprieve: Katherine Macauley/Tom Mayes def. Baird Conner/Collin Shewey, 6-2, 6-3
Quarter Consolation: Valerie Herzog/Paul Herzog def. Gisela Fernandez/Christopher Hunt
Consolation: Annie Winship/Jason Winship def. Toby Eyre/Douglas Prezzano, 6-2, 6-4
Consolation Reprieve: Germana Fabbri/Patrick Oliveira def. Melissa Rohde/A.J. Rohde

B Flight
Main Draw: Corinne Hedrick/Henry Hagenbuch def. Kim Tully-Sutton/Michael Short, 7-5, 7-5
Semi Reprieve: Pollie Robbins/Chris Heller def. Meghan Caldwell/Matt Caldwell
Quarter Reprieve: Sara Aldinger/Nathan Aldinger def. Andrea Leavitt/Patrick Higgins
Quarter Consolation: Rachel Greenspon/Colin Greenspon def. Marni Phippen/Michael Phippen, 6-4, 7-6
Consolation: Lucy Ross/Armin Drake def. Carol Guthrie/Charlie Guthrie, 6-4, 6-2
Consolation Reprieve: Madeleine Ordway/Chris Ordway def. Mallory Surpless/Douglas Robbins, 4-6, 7-6, 10-4



Flight A L to R Finalists Sebastian Bredberg/Tallie Fishburne Winners Marcela Rodezno/Maurice Sanchez



Flight B L to R Winners Henry Hagenbuch/Corinne Hedrick Finalists Kim Tully-Sutton/Michael Short)

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association