2016 Olde Providence Men’s Paddle Classic Viking PCQ Results

Dec. 10, 2016
Charlotte, NC

2016 Olde Providence Men’s2016 Olde Providence Men’sWith gray skies and a high of 38 degrees, Olde Providence Racquet Club welcomed sixteen teams for the third annual OP Men’s Paddle Classic. This year’s field was full for the third year in a row and was, by far, the strongest field in the short history of the tournament. The tournament started at 7:15am and finished at 9:45pm and featured teams from Winston-Salem, Richmond, Chapel Hill, Atlanta, and Charleston along with 10 teams from Olde Providence Racquet Club. Once again, Nathan Crick and Randy Lofgren won the title, making them the only team to ever win the OP Men’s Paddle Classic. This year they were able to accomplish the feat without dropping a set. In the hour and 45 minute final Crick and Lofgren defeated Graham McNerney and Marcel Lima 7-5, 6-4. Support for the tournament from the OPRC membership was once again outstanding with large crowds watching most of the day despite the unseasonably low temperatures. The crowd was able to beat the cold with fire pit going most of the day, 2 bottles of whisky and three kegs. Tournament Director Zen Mottershead would like to thank all the players and sponsors (Charlotte Pipe & Foundry, Wilson Racquet Sports, Good Bottle, and new sponsor Lineberger Dentistry www.linebergerdentistry.com) for a great tournament, and is looking forward to seeing everyone Dec. 8-9, 2017!

Main Draw: Nathan Crick/Randy Lofgren def. Marcel Lima/Graham McNerny 7-5, 6-4
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Rich Green/Bob Stratton def. Greg Schild/Chris Steyl 6-2, 6-2
Consolation: Graham Furlong/Brad Rush def. Ross Beattie/Scott Winokur 0-6, 6-4,
Consolation Reprieve: Matt Ellsworth/Peter Landt def. M. Mendosa/Tom Weston2016 Olde Providence Men’s

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association