Roopali Hall and Morgan Melnikoff Prevail at the Shoreline Women’s PCQ

December 8, 2018
Stonington, CT

2018 Shoreline Womens PCQ
L-R Main Draw winners Morgan Melnikoff/Roopali Hall, Vic Cran &
Lindsay Herchel

On December 8th, 14 women’s teams from Connecticut, Rhode Island and Massachusetts gathered on a brisk, pristine day to compete at the relocated Region II Shoreline PCQ Tournament.  This year the venue was the Stonington COMO courts, as Leslie Haskins capably took the helm as tournament director. Play was competitive, and everyone seemed to enjoy the day.

The main draw final pitted second seeded Roopali Hall and Morgan Melnikoff against the top seeds Victoria Cran and Lindsay Herschel. It was an entertaining match with some see-saw action. Ultimately, Hall and Melnikoff prevailed in two sets with the right combination of shots to finish the day with the top prize.

2018 Shoreline Womens PCQ Quarter Rep
L-R Quarter Reprieve winners Mardie Corcoran/ Meg Myles & Carrie
Cochrane, Meredith Stravato

Many thanks to Leslie Haskins for her assiduous attention to detail. In addition to keeping the matches on track, she assembles a delicious and bountiful luncheon that appeals to all appetites. Over the years, Leslie has perfected a smooth tournament tempo and welcoming ambience, and the players appreciate her efforts.

Thank you to all who participated, and congratulations to the triumphant team of Roopali Hall and Morgan Melnikoff.

Main Draw: Roopali Hall/Morgan Melnikoff def. Vic Cran/Lindsay Herchel, 6-3, 7-5
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Mardie Corcoran/Meg Myles def. Carrie Cochrane/Meredith Stravato, 4-6, 6-3, 6-1
Consolation: Lindsay Lawton/Mary Ellen O’Mahony def. Tricia Bloom/Trish Griggs, 6-4, 6-0
Consolation Reprieve: Nancy Nunes/Holly Stowe def. Lynn House/Kelly Newton, 6-4, 6-2


2018 Shoreline Womens PCQ Conso
Consolation l-r Trish Griggs, winners Lindsay Lawton/Maryellen
O’Mahony & Tricia Bloom
2018 Shoreline Womens PCQ Conso Rep
L-R Consolation Reprieve winners Nancy Nunes/ Holly Stowe, Kelly
Newton & Lynn House
Copyright © 2010 - 2022 American Platform Tennis Association