Short Hills Invitational Recap

February 10, 2020
Short Hills, NJ

2020 Short Hills Men's Premier Final Results (doc) (pdf)

2020 Short Hills Men's Open Final Results (doc) (pdf)

2020 Short Hills Men's B Final Results (doc) (pdf)

2020 Short Hills Women's Open Final Results (doc) (pdf)

2020 Short Hills Women's B Final Results (doc) (pdf)

Johan du Randt and Steve Mitchell Super at Short Hills

There were many upsets at the Short Hills Invitational Men’s and Women’s NRT/Viking PCQ. The talented team of local favorite Drew Broderick and young Tyler Fraser lost in the round of 16. In the quarterfinals, top seeds Juan Arraya and Mark Parsons were knocked out by Randy Lofgren and Graham McNerney. Lofgren/McNerney put a good fight against Johan du Randt and Steve Mitchell (3) but couldn’t find the breaks they needed at 6-4, 7-5.

The most exciting match of the day was the semifinals with John Hughes and Marc Powers versus Sven Burus and Mikk Irdoja. Hughes/Powers saved a few set points in the first before winning the tiebreaker. At 5-1, 40- love, Burus/Irdoja started swinging away and won six straight games to take the second set. Hughes/Powers were down an early break in the third set before winning 7-5. They may have used up all their energy before the finals. Du Randt was brilliant in the final, with great support from Steve Mitchell—they didn’t lose a set in the tournament—taking the final at 6-0, 6-2.


Annica Cooper and Florentina Hanisch Back in Top Form at Short Hills

There were zero upsets in the 31-team draw for the women, with routine up until the semifinals. Top seeds Martina Ondrejkova and Ana Zubori were bageled in their first set against Kerri Delmonico and Lauren Gebbia before winning the next two sets in tiebreakers. Annica Cooper and Florentina Hanisch went down an early break in the third set but came back to beat Ana Brzova/Roxy Enica in three sets.

In the finals, Ondrejkova/Zubori got off to a fast start in the final, but Hanisch's strong play was the difference. She opened the court up with her lobs, allowing their team offense to be effective. Cooper/Hanisch won, 7-5. 6-4.


A big draw, 40 teams, came to fight for the Open title. The top three seeds made it to the semifinals, with sixth seeds and Former National Champions Mike Cochrane and Scott Estes, Jr. breaking through as well. Cochrane/Estes defeated Genius Chidzikwe/Admire Mushonga, 6-2, 6-2.


With 48 teams vying for B Ranking points and a lower PTI, the quarterfinals held three exciting matches, with tiebreakers abounding. The unseeded team of Willen Feygin and Danny Polk eliminated the third, first, and fourth seeds—BIjo Puthenpuaryil and Hans Tang who fought valiantly in the three-set final—on their road to victory.


Another huge draw—48 teams—in the Women’s B division created some excellent quarterfinal and semifinal battles as well. The top seeds, Andrea Graczyk and Kate Schneider, prevailed at 7-5, 6-7, 6-3 over unseeded Heather McCormack and Vaira Van Son.

MEN’S 60+ and 95+

In the 95+, Michael Atkinson and Jon Lubow won a three-setter against Adrian Buckley and Rob Schenone, 6-3, 6-7, 6-2. The Men’s 60+ finals had Scott Estes, Sr. and Lloyd Ucko versus Charles Faig and Scott Freeman (No score reported).

The APTA thanks Tournament Directors Dave Broderick and Dennis Collins and the Short Hills Tournament team, the staff at the Short Hills Club, all of the area clubs whose courts were booming over the weekend, and all of the volunteers who help create a special event.


Women's Open Winners Annica Cooper/Florentina Hanisch

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association