2016 Sound Shore Invitational Recap

Sound Shore Invitational Recap
November 19-20, 2016

2016 Sound Shore Invitational Finalists
Left to right finalists Juan Arraya and Jeff Morneau, tournament
director Nick Bergman, winners Drew Broderick and Steve DeRose

Although the top seeds, Drew Broderick and Steve DeRose, took home the title Sunday morning at the Sound Shore Invitational at Rye, NY’s Manursing Island Club, there were some surprising results along the way to the finals.

Seeded fifth, Juan Arraya and Jeff Morneau avenged Arrya’s loss (with Javier Ferrin-Kranewitter) earlier this season at the Patterson Open to John Hughes and Marc Powers, the second seeds. Hughes/Powers were coming off a great run at Chicago Charities, where they won two incredibly tight (7-6 in the third) matches before losing to eventual champions, Johan du Randt and Mark Parsons, in a tough battle in the semifinals. On Saturday, however Arraya and Morneau were able to match their shotmaking with consistency, and took the quarterfinal contest 6-3, 6-4.

2016 Sound Shore Firepit

In the semifinals, Arraya and Morneau faced another team in good form. The third seeds at Sound Shore, Max LePivert and George Wilkinson, looked ready to score a huge upset in the semifinals of Chicago Charities when they took the first set from defending champions Drew Broderick and Jared Palmer. Broderick and Palmer came back and won the match, perhaps helped by LePivert’s bloody thumb injury, but there was no arguing that LePivert and Wilkinson were playing extremely well. Again, however, Arraya/Morneau scored the upset, defeating LePivert/Wilkinson 6-2, 5-7, 6-3, in a match that stretched late into Saturday evening.

Broderick and DeRose ran through the first set in the finals 6-1, but Arraya and Morneau offered some resistance in the second, drawing even at 4-4 before losing the set and the match.

Thank you to Nick Bergman for running the tournament. Many fans came out to watch the matches on Saturday, and enjoyed some great paddle by a roaring fire pit. Thanks also to George Wilkinson, the Director of Racquet Sports at Manursing.

Main Draw: Drew Broderick/Steve DeRose def. Juann Arraya/Jeffrey Morneau 6-1, 6-4
Quarterfinal Reprieve: John Hughes/Marc Powers def. Mikk Irdoja/Dan Regan 7-5, 6-4
Reprieve: Anthony Cosimano/Brett Kraft def. Andrea Bonfigli/Javier Ferrin-Kranewitter 6-3, 6-4
Round of 32 Consolation: Brian O’Connor/Devin Wakeford def. Ciaran Fitzgerald/Mark Ruppert 6-1, 7-5
Round of 32 Consolation Reprieve: Dan Englander/Robert Janecek def. Zack Rosenfeld/Scott Slobin 2-6, 6-4, 10-7
Consolation: Patrick Eagan/Victor Vidal def. Rodrigo Amaral/Neeladitya Roy 6-2, 6-1
Consolation Reprieve: Brian Kline/Tim Mangan def. Andrew Chan/Miguel Cobbs 3-6, 6-3, 10-2

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association