Western New England Men's PCQ

FEBRUARY 17, 2009

Jerry Albrikes moved into a tie for first in Region 2 President's Cup points with the inactive Lennart Jonason by winning the 19th Annual Western Massachusetts Championships, the last of the region's five events, which was hosted by the Field Club of Longmeadow here on Valentine's Day 2009.

Albrikes teamed with Fairfield County's Bob Conklin to triumph over a diverse 16 team field. The host club's team of Naren Dhamodharan and Alex Seiler briefly challenged the winners in the final before falling by scores of 6-3, 6-2. Dhamodharan and Seiler had upset #2 seeds Rob Pierce and Jeff Morneau, both former winners of this event, in the quarters, then took the measure of Ocean State natives Marc Porter and Pete Harvey (recent winners of the Essex 95 event) in the semis.

It was all Nutmeg state in the other semis as Albrikes/Conklin cruised past Ross Smith and Mike Fried. Pierce and Morneau rallied to claim the Reprieve final over Jeff Mitchell and Chuck Poe, 6-2, 6-2, while Boston area players Drew Sawyer and Dave Jenkins edged the Durfee brothers, Rob and Bill in a tense three set consolation final.

As of press time none of the competitors seemed to have suffered for having participated in this event on Valentine's Day.

First Round

Jerry ALBRIKES/Bob CONKLIN def.   Dennis Herchel/CraigWaddington  6-0, 6-1
Rod LARSEN/Hans DOUP def. Eric McLouglin/Chris Harkin 6-0, 6-0
Jeff MITCHELL/Chuck POE def. Chris David/Peter Chiarella 6-0, 6-0
Ross SMITH/Mike FRIED def. Bill Durfee/Rob Durfee 6-2, 7-6
Marc PORTER/Peter HARVEY def. Drew Sawyer/Dave Jenkins 7-6, 6-2
Geoff CARTIER/Jeff MacFARLAND def. Tim Scanlon/GaryUlrich 6-2, 6-2
Naren DHADODHARAN/Alex SEILER   def. David Arakelian/Peter Ryan 6-2, 6-2
Rob PIERCE/Jeff MORNEAU def. Bill Bodde/Brad Hoffman 6-0, 6-2


ALBRIKES/CONKLIN def.   Larsen/Doup 6-0, 6-1
SMITH/FRIED def. Mitchell/Poe 6-1, 6-0
PORTER/HARVEY def. Cartier/MacFarland   6-4, 6-2
DHAMODHARAN/SEILER   def. Pierce/Morneau 7-6, 6-1


ALBRIKES/CONKLIN def. Smith/Fried 6-3, 6-1
DHAMODHARAN/SEILER   def. Porter/Harvey 6-3, 6-1


ALBRIKES/CONKLIN   def.   Dhamodharan/Seiler   6-3, 6-2


Sawyer/Jenkins   def.   Durfee/Durfee  6-4, 3-6, 6-4


Pierce/Morneau   def.   Mitchell/Poe  6-2, 6-2

Last Chance

Scanlon/Ulrich   def.   David/Chiarella  6-2, 6-1

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association