Lucas Green and Victor Vidal Repeat at NJ League Classic.

December 20, 2019
Short Hills, NJ

By Andy Haines

160 teams competed

The New Jersey Men’s Platform Tennis Association (NJMPTA) commanded by our President, Jim Irwin, ran the annual League Classic tournament December 14-17. The event was 160 teams strong, with a 64 team play-in for the main draw. Short Hills Club hosted the tournament with matches played at 10 nearby clubs.

We anticipated a rainy tournament, but, alas, the Paddle Gods kept us mostly dry during the Saturday matches. We held back draw semis and finals Sunday AM in gusty winds.

The main draw semis and finals were held Tuesday evening at Essex Fells Club with copious BBQ and adult beverages. In the semis, youth bested Hall-of-Fame status with Green/Vidal beating Mike Stulac and Clay Bibbee. In the other semi, Dennis Cusack and Mikk Irdoja defeated Drew Broderick and Ian McDonald. Green/Vidal were the 2019 champions over Cusack/Irdoja in two sets. This was a second year repeat as LC champions for Green/Vidal.

See all League Classic Tournament draws and results at


L to R Champions Victor Vidal/Lucas Green, League Chair Jim Irwin, Finalists Mikk Irdoja/Dennis Cusack


Champions Victor Vidal and Lucas Green


Semis: Green, Vidal, Bibbee, and Stulac


Semis: Broderick, McDonald, Irdoja, and Cusack


Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association