APTA B Nationals Recap

March 20, 2018
Franklin Lakes, NJ

2018 APTA National B WomensWOMEN
Over two days of cool temperatures, puffs of wind, sun, clouds, and one lovely snowglobe flurry, the first annual APTA Women’s B Nationals welcomed 54 teams to the Indian Trail Club in Franklin Lakes, New Jersey.
In the competition, the final came down to the fourth seeds, Shauna Muller/Patty VanTassel-Cromie from New Jersey, prevailing over the first seeds, Jackie Gaines/Kate Schneider of Long Island, in a long, see-saw final, at 6-3, 1-6, 6-1.
Tournament Directors Ana Brzova and Mike Gillespie ran a seamless tournament. The atmosphere, the food, the beverage supply, the staff, the food truck, and the clubhouse amenities were exceptional from start to finish. Thank you to all the participants and volunteers.
Women’s Results:
Main Draw: Shauna Muller/Patty Van Tassel-Cromie def. Jackie Gaines/Kate Schneider, 6-3, 1-6, 6-1
Quarter Reprieve: Kristen Charney/Jolene Sutter def. Julie Hughes/Karen Urban, 6-1, 7-6
Round of 16 Reprieve: Heather McCormack/Vaira Van Son def. Caroline Beers/Donna Miller, 6-3, 6-4
Reprieve: Kathy Kulig/Eugenie Warner def. Jennifer Meyer/Lyerly Tuck, 7-5, 7-6
Consolation: Becky Campbell/Ellis Siedem def. Jennifer Chang/Jodie Pani, 6-4, 6-2
Consolation Reprieve: Kelly Conway/Courtney Raff def. Anna Asphar/Nindy Pike, 0-6, 6-4, 7-5

2018 APTA National B MensMEN
Previously the Winnable Bs, the APTA Men’s B Nationals took place over the weekend at Canoe Brook Country Club in Summit, New Jersey. Adrian Buckley and Rob Schenone of Chatham, NJ, took top honors in the APTA Men's B Nationals over father/son team David Rosenfeld and Zack Rosenfeld of Fairfield, Connecticut. Thank you to Tournament Director Drew Broderick, and to all the participants and volunteers.
Men’s Results:
Main Draw: Adrian Buckley/Rob Schenone def. David Rosenfeld/Zack Rosenfeld, 6-3, 3-6, 7-5
Reprieve: Scott Giannetti/Brent Hardy def. Dennis Collins/Justin Ucko, 6-7. 6-2, 6-4
64 Consolation: Gary Chin/Bob Engdahl def. Dan Handerhan/Alex Strickler, 0-6, 6-4, 7-5
64 Consolation Reprieve: Ed Gieske/John Lynam def. John Jansing/Robert Weissman

Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association