Nicki Ross and Corey Delaney Continue Mom's Winning Tradition

Beacon Hill Women’s B
January 5, 2018
Summit, NJ
By Steve Caccam

2018 Beacon Hill BSee the Draw 

Passion and Dedication
Eight. That’s what the mercury showed when the first serve was struck at the 2018 Beacon Hill Club Women’s B tournament in Summit, NJ on Friday, January 5.  Tournament Director and Beacon Hill Club Director of Racquets Darlene McGlone once again chaired the annual event, a perennial favorite among players throughout the tri-state region. McGlone said that this year’s event attracted sixty-four passionate and dedicated players who took great pride in competing in extreme conditions.

Taking top honors this year were locals Nicki Ross and Corey Delaney. They bested Kim Amirata and Marnie Brand in a fiercely fought main draw final at the end of a very full day of paddle.

The Future is Here
If the names Nicki Ross and Corey Delaney sound familiar, they should. The pair honed their games under the watchful eyes of their mothers, another local legendary pair, Cindy Ross and Bobo Delaney. Nicki and Corey also happen to be the winningest pair in the history of APTA Jr. Nationals, having won six gold medals each, including four consecutive Girls 18s titles, from 2009-2012. In only their second tournament together since recently finishing college, Nicki and Corey appear to be picking up right where they left off six years ago, winning tournaments.

Special Thanks
A very special thank you goes out to the area clubs that worked extra hard to get their courts ready in playing condition less than twenty-four hours after Thursday’s big snowstorm. Co-host clubs were Beacon Hill Club, Canoe Brook Country Club, Noe Pond Club, Racquets Club of Short Hills and Short Hills Club.

Main Draw: Corey Delaney/Nicki Ross  def.  Kim Amirata/Marnie Brand
Reprieve: Jenna McClintock/Lynn Ivans def. Caitlin Fitzsimmons/Sue Wallace
Consolation: Karen Mackie/Jennifer Thornton def. Katy Hobbis/Elizabeth Landy
Consolation Reprieve: Erica Graham/Diana Rice def. Sheri Dunne/Terry McCucheon

Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association