Billy O Tournament Honors Bill O’Brien

November 26-27
Hinsdale, IL

2016-Billy-OThe 2016 “Billy O” Red Zone Tournament was held November 26-27 at KLM park in Hinsdale, Illinois.  

The tournament was named “Billy O” in honor of Bill O’Brien and all that he has given to the Platform Tennis community on a local, regional, and national level. 

The Red Zone format utilizes two rectangular targets on each of the back screen.  The team that hits the target after the ball lands in the court automatically wins the point.  The targets change the game by altering the strategy and providing a “winner” shot if a player hits the target.

76 players participated in this year’s tournament in four separate draws.  100% of the proceeds, over $4000, went to Common Hope (, a non-profit group that helps impoverished children and families in Guatemala through a comprehensive set of programs in education, health care, and housing.  

In the Men’s C Draw, Mike Thiesen and Gary Doten defeated Bill Carney and Jeff Rowan in the final.

In the Men’s B Draw, Rick Larsen and Bill Enright defeated Perry Yates and John Hubert in the final.

2016 Billy-OIn the A Draw, Brad Feine and Rob Goeckel defeated Ian Grigg and Alex Andrade in the final.

In the Women’s draw, Mary Doten and Alicia O’Connor won the round robin format.2016 Billy-O

2016 Billy-O

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association