Boston Open Men’s Preview

APTA Official Sponsors:
Viking Athletics
2017 SAT Logo
Tournament Sponsors:
2018 Boston Sponsors

January 25, 2018
Boston, MA

After knocking on the door of the very top of the men’s game for several seasons, John Hughes and Marc Powers definitively broke through in late 2017. The hottest team on the APTA circuit, Hughes/Powers won the Duane Hayden Invitational by following up their semifinal upset of the top team in the country, Juan Arraya and Jeff Morneau, with a win over the three-time defending National Champions, Drew Broderick and Jared Palmer, in the finals.

If Hughes/Powers are going to make another appearance in the winners’ circle, they will have to vanquish some very tough competiton. Arraya/Morneau still hold the top ranking spot and will be intent on reversing their two recent losses. Drew Broderick and fourth-ranked Scott Kahler will be a tough out, and three-time APTA Champions Johan du Randt and Mark Parsons, playing together for the first time this season, are always a good bet to add another Boston title to the four they already own together.

The fifth, sixth, and seventh seeds, Martin Bostrom/Sebastian Bredberg, Steve DeRose/Jon Lobow, and Ryan Baxter/Ricky Heath, are all consistent performers who rarely lose early in a tournament. The eighth seeds, Rob Bakker and Tyler Fraser, are coming off of a title run at The Midwesterns and will also look to challenge the top seeds in Boston.

There are a number of floaters in the draw who could make a run in Boston. Alex Bancila and Sven Burus reached the finals of The Midwesterns and won The Milwaukee Open. Bancila also took the Chicago Charities title with Arraya. Marco Grangeiro and Mark Innes made it all the way to the Chicago finals, and Peter Berka and Graham McNerney were semifinalists at The Midwesterns and took fifth place in Long Island.

The Live Streaming team will begin coverage of the early rounds of the men’s draw on 10:30 am Saturday morning on the APTA Network and Facebook Live. With all of these incredible teams battling it out, you won’t want to miss any of it!

Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association