Fifth Annual Callaway Cup Honors Bob Callaway

Fernandez/O'Mahoney Win Women’s
Hapgood/Lindsay Win Men’s

Anton Mavrin
November 2, 2016
Darien, CT

2016 Callaway Women
Left to right: finalists Fiona Andren & Sheila Mueller,
Bob Callaway, and champions Gigi Fernandez
& Maryellen O'Mahoney
Anton Mavrin reports: “On October 22nd, men and women from Fairfield, Westchester, and even New Jersey competed in the 5th annual Callaway Cup tournament. For the fourth time in five years, the day started with rain. Bob Callaway himself was present, watching all of the matches. Gigi Fernandez, half of the women’s winning team, won her first paddle title to go with her 17 Grand Slam tennis titles and Olympic gold medal. Congratulations to all of the main and back draw winners and a big thanks to Jane Nedder, Paul Harding, and Scott McLaughlin for hosting this wonderful event.


Women’s Final: Gigi Fernandez/Maryellen O'Mahoney def. Fiona Andren/Sheila Mueller
Men’s Final: Scott Happgood/Ian Lindsay def. Troy Pinto/Michael Lawton

2016 Callaway Men
Left to right: champions Scott Happgood & Ian Lindsay,
Bob Callaway, and finalists Troy Pinto & Michael Lawton
Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association