Scott Freund and Alex Hume Crashing the Party at 2014 DE States!

December 1, 2014
Greenville, DE
Simon Peppiatt

Another great day of weather and paddle. This was the strongest Region 3 tournament to date with 37 of the Top 40 ranked players all competing in the 32 strong draw. Top seeds Vlatko Najdek and Scott Falatek (Ranked 11th Nationally) were looking for their repeat title.

Three of the Top 4 seeds made the Semi Finals with Scott Freund and Alex Hume (6th Seed) crashing the party by defeating the 3rd seed and Long Island team of Dan Englander and Rob Janjek. With a very strong showing throughout the day, Scott and Alex followed the Quarters match with a win over 2nd seed Steve Hall and Pat Nowlan to reach the Finasl. In the top half of the bracket, 4th Seed Simon Peppiatt and Greg Eger were defeated by Vladtko and Scott setting up the Final.

After losing the first set, Scott and Vlatko changed it up with some grinding and aggressive play to take the 2nd set and rightfully taking it into a third set. The crowd of beer and wine chugging well-done players cheered on the tight Championship Match, and with some thrilling play in the third set, Scott and Alex pulled out the upset!!

DE States Mens PCQ 2014

Results and Players to Watch.
The new team of Ben Zink and Mike McGrath followed their winning ways at the Mason Dixon and followed up with a 5th place finish defeating Drew Courtney and Trevor Spracklin in three sets. Another new player to watch, Nathan Healey, partnered with ranked journeyman Andy Sorrentino to take 9th place in a consolation final, defeating another new team of Sean Seese and Parker Sherry.


To cap off the tourney, it was great to see a mixture of the “Journeyman” vs the “New Stars”. Also the camaraderie between the “North” vs “South” was great. Sarcasm and fun aside, everyone was routing for each other to do well and develop a “Presidents Cup” team that will Champion at the Nationals in Chicago in 2015.

Thanks to all: Sonja, Jim Davis (GM of Greenville) and his staff, Martha White, and Jim Earley (Resident Massage Therapist)

Thanks all!!

Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association