The South Wins the 2013 Mason-Dixon Cup

2013 Mason-Dixon Cup WinnersNovember 5, 2013
Wilmington, DE

The Mason-Dixon Cup pits the top teams from Region III against each other as the season opening event. Four teams from north of the Mason-Dixon Line take on four teams from south of the Mason-Dixon Line. Each team from each squad plays each team from the other squad a match, with the winning squad getting a point.

This year's event was played on October 26, 2013 at Greenville Country Club in Wilmington, Delaware. The South was represented by Alex Hume and Tommy Croker, Juan Jaysingh and Teddy Easter, Mark Holtschneider and Blake Cordish, and Frank Holtschneider and Rob Norton. The North was represented by Andrew Hocker and Andy Sorrentino, Simon Peppiatt and Greg Eger, Mike McGrath and Mike Furman, and Justin Poletti and Rodney Stewart.

The South jumped out to a 3-1 lead after the first round and then a 5-3 lead at the half. Southern player Teddy Easter tweaked his ankle in the second round and had to default that match. He appeared to be out for the day. After an ankle re-wrap, however, he was as good as new. The South went on to win the event 10 - 6. Alex Hume and Tommy Croker went undefeated for the South. Mike Furman and Mike McGrath led the North with a 3-1 record.

The North now leads the series 7 - 4.

2013 Mason Dixon Cup Players

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association