Region VI Flexes Some President's Cup Muscle

NOVEMBER 14, 2010

Once again the Lagunitas CC was the stage for a fabulous weekend of paddle for locals and out of towners alike. It wasn’t too long ago that Region 6 couldn’t field full President’s Cup teams. Now spots on Region 6’s President’s Cup teams are becoming more coveted every year. So the NorCal paddle contingent, lead by Paddle Committee head Tom Mayes and Head Racquets Professional Christi Hays, decided to add their first annual PCQ tourney to compliment their NRT Invitational held in January every year. It adds another opportunity for Region 6 players to test their skills and gather those all important PCQ points.

The women’s draw was filled with local NorCal players and also players who traveled from Denver for a shot at the title. In the end it was an all-Lagunitas final with Christi Hays and Wendy Shpiz toppling Chizzie Brown and Val Herzog 7-6, 6-1 in the finals.

In the men’s finals it was almost an all Lagunitas affair again with Tom Mayes and his South Bay partner Jonathan Radin ousting LCC players Paul Herzog and Hugh Klein 6-1, 6-4 to capture the top prize.

All in all the weekend was a rousing success- and hopefully a lot of the participants will end up in Chicago for this year’s Nationals on one of the Region 6 President’s Cup teams.

Women's Draw: Excel format   PDF format      Men's Draw: Excel format   PDF format

Other Women's Results

REPRIEVE: Kathy Givan (Denver)/Wendy Bermingham (Denver) def. Anne Koo (Denver)/ Winslow Waxter (Denver) 3-6, 6-2, 6-4
CONSOLATION:  Cam Lanphier / Katie Smith def. Mary Hickey Andrea Leavitt 6-3, 3-6, 7-6
LAST CHANCE:  Betsy Jonckher /Marje Helfet  def. Kate Krehbiel /Eileen Sheldon 6-4, 6-4

Other Men's Results

REPRIEVE: Eric Pearson/Chris Sheldon def. Rich Welch/Pete Lardner 6-4, 6-3
CONSOLATION: Ned Lanphier/Edward Lanphier def. Tim Kemp/Jim Hobbs 6-4, 6-3
LAST CHANCE: Gregg Gibson/John O’Connor def. John Pogue/Bob Marshall (not played)

2010 NorCal Men's & Women's PCQ Slide Show - Photos courtesy of Christi Hays

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association