Arraya/Parsons Dominate in the

Fairfield, CT
September 23, 2017

The players of Region II had the chance to test their level of play early in the 2017-2018 season with a Viking PCQ and B tournament. While the temperatures in the mid-80s evoked tennis rather than paddle weather, 138 players sweated it out on a hot yet rewarding day of paddle.

PCQ      In the men’s Viking PCQ draw, Juan Arraya and Mark Parsons defeated Martin Bostrom and Sebastian Bredberg in the finals, while the National Champions Florentina Hanisch and Annica Van Starrenburg continued their winning ways in the women’s draw, beating Jennifer Demsey and Roopali Hall in the title match.

B            The Men’s B champions were Michael Chen and Chris Toft, who took out Brendan O’Brien and Jud Staniar in the finals. Kelly McCoy Newton and Meredith Stravato earned the Women’s B crown by beating Lyerly Tuck and Kate Verni.

Thank you to tournament director Maurice Sanchez, and congratulations to all of the players who competed so early in the season.

Men’s Viking PCQ:
Main Draw: Juan Arraya/Mark Parsons def. Martin Bostrom/Sebastian Bredberg, 6-4, 6-3
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Rifat Biktyakov/Roman Stoisavljev def. Ritush Venugopal/Marthinus Visser, 4-6, 6-2, 10-6
Consolation: Matt Arciero/David Marshall def. Pedro Aiala/Ricky Sanford, 6-2, 6-0
Consolation Reprieve: Will Herchel/Craig Waddington def. Charles Silva/Gafur Sirojiddinov

Women’s Viking PCQ:
Main Draw: Florentina Hanisch/Annica Van Starrenburg def. Jennifer Demsey/Roopali Hall, 6-1, 6-2
3rd/4th Playoff: Lindsey Herchel/Mary Palumbo def. Kallie Hapgood/Ali Von Kenel, 6-4, 6-3
Consolation: Victoria Cran/Christie Domoracki def. Jill Klafky/Shawn Swett, 6-3, 6-2
Consolation Reprieve: Sarah Driscoll/Shana Roberts def. Susan Macdonald/Jennifer Meyer, 6-4, 6-2

Men’s B
Main Draw: Michael Chen/Chris Toft def. Brendan O’Brien/Jud Staniar, 7-5, 6-4
Round of 16 Reprieve: Michael Callahan/Alex Woods def. Christopher Hayes/Steve Rexford, 7-6, 6-1
Consolation: Greg Fennessey/Rob Hall def. Nick Hanna/Greg Sandor, 6-3, 6-0
Consolation Reprieve: Ari Cohen/Will Vail def. Jerry Quinn/Edward Vioni, 4-6, 7-5, 7-6

Women’s B
Main Draw: Kelly McCoy Newton/Meredith Stravato def. Lyerly Tuck/Kate Verni, 6-2, 2-6, 6-2
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Anne Fox/Stephanie Jordan def. Sharon Sweeney/Michaele Taylor, 7-5, 7-5
Consolation: Cindy Ross/Nicole Ross def. Christine Smith/Teri Vineyard, 4-6, 6-3, 6-1
Consolation Reprieve: Mary Alptekin/Sandi Sufrin def. Jamie Hoff/Maria McLauglin


Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association