Brzova-Stoklasova, DeRose-Lubow Capture Inaugural Grand Prix Titles

October 12, 2015
Fairfield, CT

2015 Patterson Champs

On one of the most glorious fall weekends New England has ever seen, 64 men’s teams and 27 women’s teams played in the first APTA Grand Prix Series tournament, the Patterson Club Open. Many of the old guard were taking names, like Steve DeRose and Jon Lubow busting through the draw and Ana Brzova and Viki Stoklasova winning yet another big tournament. One young team tried to crash the party; unseeded John Hughes and Marc Powers travelled all the way to the semi-finals, taking down the sixth seeds and the third seeds before dropping to the seasoned DeRose/Lubow team.

Men's Draw   Women's Draw 

Second seeds Cynthia Dardis and Amy Shay solid performance, taking a set off Brzova and Stoklasova in the final, after duking it out with up-and-comers Gabriela Niculescu and Martina Ondrejkova in the semi-finals. Kerri Delmonico and Lauren Gebbia looked very solid together, and also took a set off Brzova and Stoklasova in a cool, Saturday evening semi-final. In the final on Sunday against Dardis and Shay, Brzova and Stoklasova worked the high lobs and steady volleys in the warm, noontime sun, winning 6-4, 1-6, 6-1.

The men’s draw was deep and long. More than doubling the number of teams from 2014, the action was impressive throughout the weekend. Finalists Martin Bostrom and Sebastian Bredberg rolled through the draw. Bostrom’s serve is one of the hardest to return on the tour, and Bredberg is reminiscent of fellow Swede Bjorn Borg, with his steady play and mellow demeanor.

Veterans Steve DeRose and Jon Lubow, with their ability to get all screen balls back into play, no matter how high or low, were on fire all weekend. Rocket drives from youngsters Hughes and Powers were volleyed back without a hitch. In the afternoon final on Sunday, Bostrom and Bredberg’s patience still couldn’t wear DeRose and Lubow down, winning 7-5, 2-6, 6-4. The points were long, with mostly 20+ ball rallies, and three-to-four net switches per point. The audience appreciatively soaked up the sun and the high-level action.

Much thanks go to tournament director Scott Slobin and his hardworking crew at the Patterson Club, as well as the 15 other clubs that hosted matches over the weekend and their hut commanders. Thanks also to the tournament sponsors, Wilson, Poland Springs, Aztek Racquet Sports, and Janus. We so appreciate our umpires, David Lee, Scott Bondurant, and Buddy Scudder.

Photos on Flickr

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association