Platform Tennis Continues to Flourish in Baltimore

Tim Polk
March 24, 2014
Baltimore, MD

397 players from ten different clubs competed in the 2013-2014 Baltimore Men's Interclub Platform Tennis League this year. Congratulations to all the Division winners!

In Division 1, Elkridge Country Club upset the top-seeded Baltimore Country Club to claim the coveted Grayson Boyce trophy. In Division 2, Greenspring Valley Hunt Club outlasted the Country Club of York at the latter's beautiful, newly renovated platform tennis facility (featured in Platform Tennis Magazine a few months back). Not to be denied, the Country Club of York won the Division 3 crown beating Baltimore Country Club in the finals.

Apparently, 16 weeks of paddle isn't enough for the Baltimore guys as the second annual Baltimore Paddle Tennis Draft League kicked off its seven-week season on February 25th.

Elkridge Country Club (D1 champs) (Standing from left to right): Sam Byram, Dan Verbic, Tommy Mathews, Andy Demuth, Matt Wyskiel, Richard Gatchell (captain), David Clapp, Billy Mathews (co-captain). Kneeling: John Baker, Nickel Lietzau. Missing from picture - Teddy Easter.

Greenspring Valley Hunt Club (D2 champs) (from left to right): Ben Garner, Kurt Aarsand, Peter Foote, Jeff Maddox, Ridge Hardy (Captain), JT Tompkins, Bryan Casey, Peter Austin. Missing from picture - Lawson Devries, Ned Welbourn, and JD Wells.
Country Club of York (D3 champs) (from left to right): Matt Chronister, Judd Lando, Dick Glaser, Frank Countess (Captain), Don Brennan (Commissioner), Scott Devers, Bill Long, Bob Brandt. Missing from picture - Bill Shorb, George Shorb, and Jim Tautkus.
Copyright © 2010 - 2021 American Platform Tennis Association