Parsons and Bancila Capture Open

October 9, 2015
Fairfield, CT

2015-parsons-bacila-paddleplayercom-350Second-seeded Mark Parsons and Alex Bancila waltzed through the bottom of the draw, dropping just six games en route to the finals of the 2015-16 season’s first President’s Cup Qualifier on Saturday, September 26 in Fairfield, Conn. There they were met by top seeds Juan Arraya and Max LePivert, who’d been pushed to three sets in both their quarter-final and semi-final victories.

In another three-setter, Parsons-Bancila claimed a third-set tiebreaker for the match (6-4, 1-6, 7-6) and the championship. Arraya and LePivert had previously come back to beat third-seeded Marco Grangeiro and Jeff Morneau (6-7, 7-5, 7-6) in the semis, and unseeded Todd Hiscox and Genius Chidzikwe (6-4, 1-6, 6-0) in the quarters.

No Cinderella Story2015-paddleplayercom-women-350
Top-seeded Gabi Niculescu and Martina Ondrejkova took the women’s title, ousting unseeded Debora Castany and Florentina Hanisch 6-3, 6-2 in the final. Castany-Hanisch knocked off No. 3 seeds Jen Demsey and Danielle Lenois 6-2, 6-0 to reach the semis, where they pulled off another upset in their three-set win over second-seeded Dana Parsons and Katie Adams.

Top Seeds Fall in Final
In the Men’s B event, No. 2 seeds Henry Fishman and Zack Rosenfeld ousted top seeds Steve Minkowitz and Bob Sheehy 6-3, 6-4 for the championship.

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association