2008 Tar Heel Men's

Region VII NewsExperience Prevails in 1st Tar Heel Men's PCQ

DECEMBER 13, 2008

Paddle players old and new gathered from around the south to enjoy the 1st men's tournament in Chapel Hill.  Participants came from Savannah, Hilton Head, Charlottesville, Winston-Salem, Chapel Hill, and Nyack.  On a beautiful December day with temps starting in 20s and rising to 40s, Chapel Hill's 2 courts were going from 8am until 6.  The draw was limited to 10 teams this year to be able to finish in 1 day.  When UNC's 3 additional courts are completed Chapel Hill may accommodate more teams.

Tar Heel Men 2008 Pic2 As always, the Chapel Hill Tennis Club's enthusiastic staff provided traditional southern hospitality.  The grill was going all afternoon along with the fire pit and keg from Carolina Brewery.

Experience prevailed as former APTA president Brian Zevnik and partner Jon Holskin captured the title over Dale Lydecker and Geoff Scott. Click here for the full draw.

Chapel Hill's young new talent enjoyed the learning experience and will learn to slow their serves before next years event.  Recent UNC tennis star Brad Pomeroy commented he didn't remember ever being so far down in a draw.  Greg Archer who played president's cup last year has done a great job getting his fellow UNC tennis alum into paddle.  We've had 4 of them playing regularly in addition to UNC tennis coaches Brian Kalbas and Tripp Phillips.  We hope to see more of them in tournaments and on future Region VII president's cup teams in the future.

As envisioned several years ago the weekend included ACC basketball.  The Savannah, Hilton Head, Nyack contingent all went to the Dean Dome to see Carolina in action.  We hope to see everyone back next year and predict youth will learn and prevail in 2009.

Tar Heel Men 2008 pic1
Danny Galves, Bob Fulton, Dale Lydecker, Geoff Scott
Tar Heel Men 2008 pic3
Winston/Salem's Alex Whaling, Sid Hanes, Rich Brown, Jimbo Galloway
Tar Heel Men 2008 pic4
Chapel Hill's Michal Zaluski, Alan Rader, Greg Archer,
Rich Green, Dave Padilla
Tar Heel Men 2008 pic5
L-R Finalists Geoff Scott/Dale Lydecker,
Champions Jon Holskin/Brian Zevnik


2008 Tar Heel Men's Slide Show

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association