2008 Pennsylvania States

JANUARY 13, 2008

The 2008 PA States was held over a glorious weekend for paddle on January 12th and 13th.  The tournament was comprised of 80 Men’s and 40 Women’s teams from throughout Region 3. It was hosted by Andy Sorrentino at Aronimink Golf Club in Newtown Square, Pa. The highlight of the tournament is always the spectacular party in the newly renovated Aronimink Golf Club and featured an awesome band that kept the paddle revelers dancing through out the night.

The questions for the weekend were; (1) Whether the #1 seeded team of Todd Marvin and Scott Falatek would take their third consecutive regional President Cup Qualifier of the season and continue their unblemished record?, (2) Would they face the veteran team, returning and 11 time champions, and #2 seed of Tim McAvoy and John Stefanik for the third year in a row?, and (3) Could any of the other regional teams solve either of these teams and earn a birth into the finals for the first time in three years.

The seeding committee once again nailed the semi-finals as the top four seeds held through. In the Semis, the #1 team of Marvin and Falatek faced off against a very familiar #4 team of Steve Reiniger and Andrew Hocker. In the other semi, the #2 seed of McAvoy and Stefanik paired off against the #3 seed, which included tournament host Andy Sorrentino, and partner Vlatko Najdek. Sorrentino and Najdek jumped out to a quick start and took the first set. The second set had both teams battling it out to a tie breaker with McAvoy and Stefanik pulling through setting up a deciding third set to gain entry into the finals. Team McAvoy and Stefanik never looked back and took the third set earning their way into the finals for the 15th consecutive time. In the other semi, Marvin and Falatek posted a difficult but decisive victory in straight sets setting up a show down with the returning champions for the third consecutive year.

The finals shocked everyone watching as McAvoy/ Stefanik played flawless paddle and never gave Marvin/ Falatek a chance to earn their third consecutive regional Presidential Cup Qualifier for this season. The final score was 6-0, 6-2. Congratulations to McAvoy and Stefanik, the now 12 time winners of the event.

In the A consolation, Joe Williamson and Mike McGrath defeated Norm Liedtke and JD Cassidy. In the AR consolation, Rich Devine and Eric Fay defeated Bernard Poussot and Hamilton Clark. In the B consolation, Rick Craft and Brendan Kirk defeated Dan Wheeler and Jay Siegfried and in the round of 16's consolation, Peter Redpath and Tom Harris defeated Ken Goddu and Steve Nycum.

On the women's side - After a day of posturing, just one upset was seen as #5 seed Denise Studnick and Nina Sando knocked off #4 seed Cindy Prendergast and Milbrey Jacobs in the quarters. In a Saturday semi battle - #2 seed Cooey Lyon and Laurie Hissey beat Betsy Heidenberger and Sue Shelboune in a tough 3 setter. Top seed Leila Safford and Andrea Dutton squashed the hopes of another Studnick/Sando upset with a straight set win in the other semi. Sunday was a showdown of #1 v. #2 partner against partner.   Lyon/Hissey came out firing and took the first set 6-2. Dutton/Safford wouldn't go down easily and battled back in the second set but came up short and lost 7-5 in the second. Congrats to Cooey Lyon and Laurie Hissey for winning!

Special thanks goes out to Andy Sorrentino for running once again a picture perfect event, all of the sponsors that made for an awesome party and great favors and the 10 area clubs that participated through providing courts for the 120+ teams throughout the weekend.

Copyright © 2010 - 2019 American Platform Tennis Association